Ambergate Gardens Ambergate Gardens Ambergate Gardens
ambergate gardens

Perennials for Sunny Sites

The palette of perennials for high light areas is so huge that it is overwhelming. Each gardening season offers a flood of new perennials.

ambergate gardens
ambergate gardens

Perennials for Shady Sites

Gardeners often see shade as the enemy to their garden. In reality, shade allows you to create a totally different style and feel than you could ever achieve in a full sun situation.ambergate gardens

ambergate gardens

Grasses

Gardeners appreciate grasses for the innate beauty and year-around interest that they add to our outdoor living spaces.

ambergate gardens
ambergate gardens

Books, Tools and Labels

If you are a serious gardener, you are probably also a lover of gardening literature, as the two seem to go hand-in-hand.ambergate gardens

ambergate gardens

Resources

We have over forty years of horticultural experience and can also help answer many general gardening questions. Please feel free to contact us at 952-443-2248 or 877-211-9769. Please leave a message if we are not available. During the growing season, e-mail is perhaps the best way to make an initial contact with our staff. We are located very near the Minnesota Landscape Arboretum and a visit to our nursery location would be a perfect complement to your next visit there. Staff at both locations can offer you much helpful advice.

As you are undoubtedly aware, the Internet is loaded with plant information, some good and some bad. To help you in researching additional perennial data, we recommend the following sites for their accurate and relevant information.

American Clematis Society (www.clematis.org)
American Daffodil Society (www.daffodilusa.org)
American Fern Society (www.amerfernsoc.org)
American Hemerocallis Society (www.daylilies.org)
American Hemerocallis Society Region 1 (www.northerndaylily.com)
American Horticultural Society (www.ahs.org)
American Hosta Society (www.hosta.org)
American Iris Society (www.irises.org)
American Iris Society Region 8 (www.aisregion8.org)
American Peony Society (www.americanpeonysociety.org)
American Primrose Society (www.americanprimrosesociety.org)
Chicago Botanic Garden (www.chicagobotanic.org)
Daffodil Data Base (www.daffseek.org)
Daffodil Society of Minnesota (www.daffodilmn.org)
Daylily Data Base (www.daylilies.org/DaylilyDB/)
Daylily Society of Minnesota (www.daylilysocietyofminnesota.org)
Eloise Butler Wildflower Garden (http://minneapolisparks.org/default.asp?PageID=4&parkid=340)
Florifacts (www.florifacts.umn.edu)
Garden Minnesota (www.gardenminnesota.com)
Garden Rant (www.gardenrant.com)
Garden Web (www.gardenweb.com)
Gay Gardener (www.gaygardener.com)
Hosta Image Data Base (www.hostalibrary.org)
Is this plant a weed? (www.extension.umn.edu/gardeninfo/weedid/index.html)
Landscape Plant Development Center (http://www.landscapecenter.org/11)
Median Iris Society (www.medianiris.com)
Midwest Regional Hosta Society (www.midwesthostasociety.org)
Minnesota Chapter North American Rock Garden Society
(www.mn-nargs.org)
Minnesota Extension Service (www.extension.umn.edu)
Minnesota Grown (www.mda.state.mn.us/food/minnesotagrown)
Minnesota Hosta Society (www.mnhosta.org)
Minnesota Landscape Arboretum (www.arboretum.umn.edu)
Minnesota Native Plant Society (www.mnnps.org)
Minnesota Peony Society (www.mnpeony.org)
Minnesota State Horticultural Society (www.northerngardener.org)
Minnesota State Master Gardener Program (http://www.mg.umn.edu)
Minnesota Water Garden Society (www.mwgs.org)
My Northern Garden Blog (www.mynortherngarden.com)
National Chrysanthemum Society (www.mums.org)
Noerenberg Gardens (www.threeriversparks.org/parks/noerenberg-gardens.aspx)
North American Lily Society (www.lilies.org)
North American Rock Garden Society (www.nargs.org)
North Star Lily Society (www.northstarlilysociety.com)
Perry's Perennial Pages (www.uvm.edu/~pass/perry)
Plant Information Online (www.plantinfo.umn.edu)
Rain Garden Information (www.bluethumb.org)
Rain Garden Information (www.learningstore.uwex.edu/assets/pdfs/GWQ037.pdf)
Renegade Gardener (www.renegadegardener.com)
Royal Horticultural Society (www.rhs.org.uk)
Shades of Green Hosta Society (www.soghs.org)
Society for Siberian Irises (www.socsib.org)
Soil Testing Information (soiltest.cfans.umn.edu)
Spuria Iris Society (www.spuriairis.com)
Sustainable Landscapes (www.ag.udel.edu/udbg/sl)
Sustainable Urban Landscape Information (www.sustland.umn.edu)
The Epimedium Page (home.earthlink.net/~darrellpro)
The Hardy Fern Foundation (www.hardyferns.org)
U.S.D.A. Hardiness Zone Map (planthardiness.ars.usda.gov/PHZMWeb)
University of Minnesota Gardening Info(http://www.extension.umn.edu/gardeninfo)
What is wrong with my plant? (http://www.extension.umn.edu/gardeninfo/diagnostics/index.html)
What insect is this? (http://www.extension.umn.edu/gardeninfo/insectgallery/index.html)
Wild Ones (www.for-wild.org)
Wisconsin Hardy Plant Society
(www.wisconsinhardyplantsociety.com)